BPW Australia Awards 

BPW Clubs are invited to nominate members for the triennial BPW Awards that will be presented at the BPW Australia National Conference Gala Dinner.  Links to the application forms can be found below, where applicable.

The closing date for award nominations has been extended until 14 February 2022. Clubs that are financial on that date are eligible to submit nominations. Nominations should be forwarded to the President at president@bpw.com.au and to secretary@bpw.com.au, with supporting documentation as requested.

The Jean Arnot Award

The Jean Arnot Award was established in 1994 to honour the life and commitment of Jean Arnot, a past National President and pioneer of the fight for equal pay in Australia.

The Award seeks to recognise outstanding commitment and service to women through BPW, nationally or internationally. The nominee will have made a major change to administration, policies or projects that established a major benefit for women.

The nominee must be a current member of BPW and length of BPW membership must exceed 5 years. This prestigious award of BPW Australia is not necessarily awarded at every conference.

For more details and to Submit Nomination click here

Jean Arnot

Past Winner |  Kaye Morrison 2013 


Past Winner | Mary Dean 2002 

Past Winner |Marie Schlemme

The Beryl Nashar Award

This Award recognises a BPW member with 3 or more years of membership who has made an outstanding contribution to BPW. It honours Professor Beryl Nashar OBE, Past President of BPW Australia and BPW International.

NOTE: this is a President’s Award and will be selected by the BPWA National President to recognise a member who has contributed significantly to the BPW Aims and purpose during the President’s term.

No nominations required.

Inaugural Winner
 Mary Louise Clifford 2005

Award Presented by Beryl Nashar

        Past Winner | Jasmyn Mumme 2007
Past Winner | Sandra Cook 2010

Past Winner | Kim Kavanagh 2013

The Young BPW Award

The Young BPW Award acknowledges and recognises a Young BPW for both BPW and career achievements and her potential in both arenas.  Career success does not necessarily mean she has reached the top of the tree, but that she is progressing well for her age.

The nominee should be:

  • a good all-rounder, a woman who is both achieving success in her career and within the community
  • committed to raising the status of women through her work with BPW

Nominees will be asked to complete an application, write an essay, be interviewed by a panel and deliver a speech at the National Conference.

Find out more and submit your Nomination click here

Winner 2018 | Melissa Bright

The Pat Harrison Award 

BPW Clubs may submit nominations for this award, which recognises a Club President who held office between 1 July 2018 and 30 June 2021.  The nominated member must have held the office of Club President for a minimum of 12 months.

The Award winner is chosen by Past BPW International President Pat Harrison. 

The criteria for the award are:

  • Leadership in mentoring club members
  • Leadership in promoting Young BPWs into the Club
  • Leadership of programs in the Club
  • Leadership of programs in the community

Find out more and submit your Nomination click here

Dr Pat Harrison

The Freda Miriklis Women's Empowerment Award

The Freda Miriklis Women’s Empowerment Award has been established to recognise Freda’s work leading up to and during her term as President of BPW International 2011-2014 and for her instrumental role in developing and promoting the Women’s Empowerment Principles (WEPs) - a partnership initiative of UN Women and UN Global Compact (UNGC) - now considered the nexus for achieving the UN Sustainable Development Goals. 

The award is granted to an Australian woman who has excelled in promoting women’s empowerment in one or more of the seven WEPs:

1. Establish high-level corporate leadership for gender equality

2. Treat all women and men fairly at work – respect and support human rights and non-discrimination

3. Ensure the health, safety and well-being of all women and men workers

4. Promote education, training and professional development for women

5. Implement enterprise development, supply chain and marketing practices that empower women

6. Promote equality through community initiatives and advocacy

7. Measure and publicly report on progress to achieve gender equality

Find our more and Submit Nomination click here

Freda Miriklis 

 Former BPW International President
and National Young BPW Australia

The BPW Australia Power to Make a Difference Award

This Award is part of a BPW International program and recognises a Club that demonstrates the capacity of BPW to make a difference for women.  

This Award can be in one of three categories:

Advocacy             Action             Leadership

The project presented can be any national or international project managed by a BPW Australia Club. It will be judged on the difference the outcome of the project has had upon women, the significance of the change, and the number of women it affected.

This Award mirrors the BPW International Award and the winner will be encouraged to nominate for the International Award at the Congress in 2017.

Find out more and Submit Nomination click here

Past Winner - BPW Cessnock 2013

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software