South Australian BPW Members Honoured

02 Dec 2015 12:50 PM | Anonymous

In 2008, the South Australian Government established the SA Women's Honour Roll to acknowledge and celebrate the diversity of women in our community and their commitment to effecting change.  In 2015, 30 women were honoured, including BPW members Sheila Evans OAM and Gillian Lewis.·      


Sheila was honoured as a pioneer of women’s safety and support, recognising that she founded one of the first women’s shelters in SA in 1975 and continues to work tirelessly on the South Australian White Ribbon Breakfast Committee. 

Sheila is a long-term BPW member and established BPW Adelaide Hills.


    Gillian was honoured as a passionate campaigner against domestic violence and for her work with BPW.

    Gillian conceived and established the Adelaide White Ribbon Breakfast in 2006, bringing together women’s groups and men as White Ribbon Ambassadors, and continues as Co-convenor of the Committee. 

    The 2015 White Ribbon Breakfast attracted an audience of 1200 to hear speaker Rosie Batty. It has been growing each year to become one of the largest annual events in South Australia.  We’re proud to see our BPW banner prominent at the breakfast, and very proud of Gillian and Sheila.

    View the 2015 South Australian Women’s Honour Roll. 

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software