June Kane AM

BPW Australia President

2011-2013       BPW Victoria State Representative

2011-2014       BPWA Board Member

2010-2013       BPW Doutta Galla Club President

2015-2016       BPW Melbourne North-West Club President         

Occupation:    International Expert – UN 1994 – present

Director, International Red Cross 1992 -1994

                        Communications Consultant 1991-1992

Club: 2007 BPW Doutta Galla  (BPW Melbourne North-West)

International Conferences attended:

2014       BPWI Congress, Jeju South Korea

2011-2013 Human Rights Council

2011  International Labour Conference

National Conferences attended:

2013       Ettalong, NSW

2010 Perth, WA


2007 Member of the Order of Australia

1993 Albert Schweitzer Medal for Humanitarian Action


  • Strategic membership actions, supporting clubs which resulted in doubled membership in one year.
  • Repositioned BPWA with key stakeholders in the political sphere through the hard work of the Director of Policy.
  • Increased relevance of BPWA for working women through regular submissions to government enquiries,developed in consultation with members and shared with them through a regularly updated website.     
  • Transparency and some breaking down of the ‘old girls’ network’, to a large extent through regular bulletins to members, regular updates for club presidents and constant updating of website.
Falling membership over a decade linked to:
  • Loss of perceived relevance of BPW in the wake of many other active NGOs working in the women’s area with clearer mandates and higher profiles
  • Lack of strategic vision to remedy lack of profile, lack of positioning and lack of members
  • Need to reposition BPWA in the context of new growing discourse on the position of women in the world of work
What were the key issues of the day from a BPW perspective?
  • Discrimination against women in the world of work - beyond Equal Pay this discussion needed to be more sophisticated and comprehensive to remain relevant to today's women
  • Violence against women in the workplace, particularly harassment of young women

BPW Australia Board 2013 to 2014

President                                          Dr June Kane AM

Immediate Past President                 Marilyn Forsythe

Executive Secretary Dr Jean Murray

Director of Finance                     Heather Veale

Director of Policy                           Andrea Cross 

Director of Membership Karen Delvin  

Director of Marketing                   Sifat Bhatia

Director of YBPW                           Erin Chew

WA Division President                 Jasmyn Mumme

NSW State Representative Irene Ross

QLD State Representative               Michelle Halvorsen

SA State Representative                 Kerryl Murray McGlennon

VIC State Representative                 Jacqueline Graham

Thank you to the women behind the BPW Australia Past President History Project:
Project Leader, Past President Marilyn Forsythe (2007-2013), 
Past President Kay Morrison (2004-2007), Margaret Tipper, BPWA Executive Secretary (2016+), Robyn Duncan (BPWA Public Officer), Trish Clifford (BPW Central Coast) and Jean Murray (Immediate Past BPWA Executive Secretary) for their assistance and research.  The Past President History will continue to expand as information becomes available about the National Presidents since 1947.  

Please submit further information and photos to secretary@bpw.com.au

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software